Chapter Committees

AFP South Sound (AFPSS) is fortunate to have many engaged members who make our chapter great! The dedicated members of our chapter committees volunteer their time to assure that we are a success. Committee members have the opportunity to learn, contribute, and shape our chapter.

Committees are always looking for additional volunteers, and serving is a great way to give back to your local AFP chapter and get to know others in the chapter more closely. If you would like to join any of the committees below, please contact the committee chair.

IDEA Committee

The IDEA Committee works to expand inclusion, diversity, equity and access (IDEA) in fundraising in the South Sound.

  • Meeting schedule: Third Thursday every other month, 5:15 pm
  • Members: Sherrana Kildun, Greater Tacoma Community Foundation; Sue Loiland, Pacific Lutheran University; Lee Warnecke, University of Puget Sound
  • Chair: Dermont Smith, Campbell & Company

Marketing and Communications Committee

The Marketing and Communications Committee shares and promotes chapter opportunities to learn, network and grow; shares resources and information with our members; and increases the visibility of AFP South Sound in our region.

  • Meeting schedule: Third Wednesday of the month, 12:30 pm
  • Members: Janie Frasier, HopeSparks; Emily Happy, The Philanthropy Collective; Elizabeth Hirschl, Elements of Education; Jim Hushagan, The Philanthropy Collective; Andrea Michelbach, Pacific Lutheran University
  • Chair: Mary Brickle, Tacoma Art Museum

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee aims to attract, engage and retain members to AFP South Sound. We do this by spreading the word about the impact of our chapter, asking people to participate, and offering opportunities to be involved.

  • Meeting schedule: Third Friday of the month, 8 am
  • Members: Kate Albert Ward, Hilltop Artists; Laurel Carlyle, World Vision; Sue Loiland, Pacific Lutheran University 
  • Chair: Jennifer Wolbrecht, Pierce College

Programs Committee

The Program Committee seeks to inspire and inform greater professionalism in fundraising practice by planning a diverse mix of educational programs that appeal to our members and friends. Our committee seeks CFRE-approved topics and presenters on par with those at national conferences. We coordinate with the other committees to ensure that AFP South Sound programming and events complement one another and meet ongoing needs for professional knowledge, networking and development.
  • Meeting schedule: Second Mondays, 4:30 pm, Peace Community Center
  • Members: Angela Beard, City University of Seattle; Jan Brazzell, Advancement Consulting; Jim Greenfield, Retired; Lisa Johnson, The Zoo Society; Laura Rose, Charles Wright Academy; Ruth Tollefson, Peace Community Center; Lee Warnecke, University of Puget Sound
  • Chair: Jennie Griek, Children's Museum of Tacoma; Missy Zenczak, United Way Pierce County

Summit Committee

The South Sound Philanthropy Summit Committee is a joint project of AFP South Sound (AFP SS) and the South Sound Planned Giving Council (SSPGC) formed to plan and execute the annual South Sound Philanthropy Summit. The goal of the Summit is to bring together development, allied professionals, and philanthropists for a day of education and networking.

  • Meeting schedule: First Monday of each month; bimonthly Aug/Sept pre-event
  • Members: Shelley Buck, Foundations of MultiCare; Robin Echtle, Tacoma Lutheran Home; Laura Edman, The Alford Group; Al Hove, Phoenix Risen Consulting; Rick Oldenburg, Oldenburg & Associations; Doug Page, Pacific Lutheran University; James Plourde, Campbell & Company; Evelyn Ryberg, Greater Tacoma Community Foundation; Susan Schmit, Franciscan Foundation; Dermont Smith, Campbell & Company
  • Co-chairs: Emily Happy, The Philanthropy Collective (AFPSS) and Todd Blodgett, Eisenhower Carlson (SSPGC)

Young Professionals Committee

The Young Professional committee seeks to provide opportunities for young development professionals in the South Sound region. We aim to grow the young professional membership category; organize events that share ideas and resources; and provide meaningful input to the AFPSS Board. Young Professional events are focused on peer exchanges through collaboration, networking, and community resource sharing.

Committee Chairs Share Why They Serve

thumbnail image
“AFP is a great resource and network of dedicated professionals working to make the South Sound a thriving community. As a life-long learner I come away with new tips after every AFP engagement.” 
— Sheranna Kildun, past IDEA Committee Chair

thumbnail image
“AFP South Sound has been such a positive professional and personal network for me. Joining — and volunteering with — our local chapter has been one of the best ways for me to grow my career and get to know the local nonprofit community.”
— Andrea Michelbach, past Marketing and Communications Committee Chair

thumbnail image
“AFP has been both a staple and a lifeline for me in development work. When I joined AFP as a newly minted development staffer to now with several years under my belt, AFP has and continues to provide quality education, fellowship and a source of expertise in the field that is invaluable.”
— Jennifer Wolbrecht, Membership Committee Chair

thumbnail image
“I'm a member of AFPSS because I have gained so much from my professional community. Fundraising can be difficult, lonely work, and I'm so grateful that I have a group of people that always understands where I'm coming from! AFP has also brought me the opportunity to learn from the best of the best and prepare for and pass my CFRE. I feel so fortunate to be part of such a supportive network!”
— Ruth Tollefson, past Program Committee Chair

thumbnail image
“AFP South Sound is my go-to for superior development education and networking. It is a wildly supportive community, and I have loved learning and growing with these wise professionals over the last several years. Thank you, AFP!”
— Emily Happy, Summit Committee Co-Chair

thumbnail image
“I value the networking opportunities that AFP offers and connecting with those that share a love for philanthropy. It provides programs that promote growth and education of the fundraising world and I look forward to working with other passionate individuals involved with AFP.”
— Mary Davidson, past Young Professionals Committee Chair