National Philanthropy Day

National Philanthropy Day
AFP South Dakota

AFP SD's National Philanthropy Day conference was held as a virtual event on Thursday, Nov. 12. Thanks to everyone who joined us.

SCHEDULE — THURSDAY, NOV. 12, 2020



9 a.m. until 10:30 a.m. CDT / 8 a.m. until 9:30 a.m. MDT
Featured speaker: Simone Joyaux, ACFRE, Adv Dir, FAFP, Certificate in Philanthropic Psychology, Joyaux Associates
  • Governance session for nonprofit board members, organization leaders, resource development committees/councils, AFP members, and other nonprofit professionals

    "The Very Most Important Stuff About Governance - Which Many People Don’t Know"
                “Well, Missy,” the man said to me, as he patted me on the arm. He continued: “I’ve served on more boards than you are old.”
                My response, in a balanced, professional voice: “But I’m right and you’re wrong and here’s the IRS handout that explains.”
                The attending board members and staff had been saying “No” and “We don’t agree with that all morning.
                But wait, I thought. You asked me here because of my expertise. Hmmm…
                There’s a big difference between opinion and expertise.
                So I’m here to talk about the fundamentals of good governance. The key points that far too many people don’t know.
                By the way, it’s okay if you don’t know the basics. But you do have to learn them!
                And! I have a great handout for you!!

11 a.m. until 12:30 p.m. CDT / 10 a.m. until 12:15 p.m. MDT
AFP Global program (OPEN TO ALL REGISTRANTS)
  • 11 a.m. CDT / 10 a.m. MDT — Welcoming remarks by AFP President/CEO Mike Geiger, MBA, CPA
  • 11:15 a.m. CDT / 10:15 a.m. MDT — Keynote from Maureen Hackett, Co-Founder & President, Hackett Family Foundation
  • 11:45 a.m. CDT / 10:45 a.m. MDT — Videos and interviews with 2020 chapter awardees
  • 12:15 p.m. CDT / 11:15 a.m. MDT — Closing remarks by AFP Chair, Martha Schumacher, CFRE, ACFRE, MInstF
12:30 p.m. until 1:30 p.m. CDT / 11:30 a.m. until 12:30 p.m. MDT
Hour break

1:30 p.m. until 2:15 p.m. CDT / 12:30
p.m. until 1:15 p.m. MDT

  • National Philanthropy Day Awards
2:15 p.m. until 2:30 p.m. CDT / 1:15 p.m. until 1:30 p.m. MDT
15-minute break

2:30 p.m. until 5 p.m. CDT / 1:30 p.m. until 4 p.m. MDT
Featured speaker: Simone Joyaux, ACFRE, Adv Dir, FAFP, Joyaux Associates
  • Fundraising session for philanthropy professionals, seasoned and new
"Cool Stuff and Just Plain Weird Stuff About Fundraising"
      Ah, the times they are a-changing. (Please tell me that some of you remember this old folk song!)
      Increasing amounts of academic research for our beloved fundraising field. More and more great books documenting what you and I must know.
      Here are just a few of the items I’m going to talk about:
    • Always always remember: Donors give through your organization to fulfill their own aspirations.
    • What makes donors loyal
    • Neuroscience and human emotions
    • Culture of philanthropy (Thanks so much Peter Drucker!)
    • My concept of enabling: Almost a bad/sad story from the Event Committee meeting!
    • Donor-centered (e.g., customer-centered communications): communications behavior/technique.
    • And more! Also, a great handout.




ABOUT SIMONE JOYAUX, OUR FEATURED SPEAKER

Simone Joyaux

When I was 9 years old, living in France, I made my career decision: Teach French in middle school and high school.

But I never found a teaching job. And my Masters Degree in 20th century French and American comparative literature sure didn’t help!

So I fell into the nonprofit sector kinda by accident. Oh my gosh. How did I survive, thrive, and excel? Read! Read every book and attend  every workshop and learn learn learn!

Executive Director > CDO > And in January 2020, I began my 33rd year as a consultant specializing in fundraising, governance, strategic planning, management. Have written 3 books and contributed to multiple others. Present all over the world. Taught governance for 20 years in a university masters degree program. Regularly serve on boards, often ending up as chair.

I’m described as one of the most thoughtful, inspirational, and provocative leaders in the profession worldwide. And philanthropy is my life’s work…my self-definition.

[And for the secret stories…Like Mrs. Frizzle and the megaphone…Ask your own chapter member, Dzenan Berberovic.]

Simone P. Joyaux (pronounced SEE’-mun Zha-WHY’-oh) has been described by colleagues around the world as one of the nonprofit sector’s most thoughtful, inspirational and provocative leaders. She sees herself as a change agent, an agitator. Whether it’s asking essential cage-rattling questions . . . or proposing novel approaches . . . or advocating for change . . . that’s Simone.

Simone began her career in the nonprofit sector in 1975, serving as the executive director of an arts center and arts council in Lansing, Michigan. She served as chief development officer for Trinity Repertory Company (RI) from 1981 to 1988 and became a full-time consultant in January 1988.

As a volunteer, Simone has founded two organizations: the first iteration of a statewide arts advocacy organization in Rhode Island and, in 2000, the Women’s Fund of Rhode Island, a social justice organization.

She regularly serves on boards, often as chair. From 1999 through 2001, Simone served as chair of the board of CFRE International, the baseline credentialing program for fundraisers. During her tenure, the program achieved its independence and established itself internationally. Simone received her M.A. in English and her B.A. in English and French from Michigan State University.




Thank you sponsors

Silver - statewide sponsors

Bronze level - Statewide
Avera
Citi
Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation