Indiana Philanthropy Awards Celebration

Indiana Philanthropy Awards Celebration

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2019 Indiana Philanthropy Awards.  Recipients will be recognized during the Indiana Philanthropy Awards Celebration on November 14, 2019 at the Indiana Roof Ballroom.  Nominations will be accepted until June 17, 2019.

Nomination Form

Nominations are being accepted for the following categories:

Lifetime Achievement: 
An individual or family who has demonstrated a record of exceptional service as a donor or volunteer and has left a remarkable legacy through their philanthropy.

Outstanding Philanthropist: 
An individual or family whose generosity has positively impacted the community and/or encouraged and inspired others to take philanthropic leadership roles.

Outstanding Fundraising Professional: 
An individual who practices the fundraising profession in an exemplary manner and is an inspiration to others.  Must be an AFP member for a minimum of 12 months prior to date of application.  To confirm membership status, email Sara Nash, AFP-IC Chapter Administrator, at

Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser:  An individual or family that successfully coordinated and motivated groups of volunteers for fundraising projects that have had significant impact on a charitable organization(s).

Outstanding Foundation: 
A community, private, or corporate foundation that has demonstrated substantial impact.

Outstanding Philanthropy Group: 
Giving circles; donor affinity, alumni, or community groups; civic or social service organizations; and similar entities that have promoted philanthropy or volunteerism within an organization or community.

Outstanding Youth Achievement: 
An individual or group through age 22 who participated in direct financial support, development of charitable programs, volunteerism and/or philanthropic leadership.

Outstanding Business: 
A business that has practiced impactful corporate giving and/or motivated philanthropic support, leadership, and volunteerism among its employees.

Nomination Submission
1. Nomination Form -
including contact information and written narrative totaling approximately three to five paragraphs (averaging a total of 400-600 words) that include:
     Description of outcomes of philanthropic impact and achievements accomplished
     Evidence of philanthropic support and innovative, collaborative approaches to solving problems
     For Lifetime Achievement, Outstanding Philanthropist, Outstanding Fundraising Professional, Outstanding Fundraising Volunteer only:  Evidence of encouragement and
     motivation given to others to take leadership roles toward philanthropy and community involvement.

2.  Two letters of support - no more than one page each, emailed to 


For information about sponsorship opportunities for the 2019 event , please contact Julie McDearmon at

The following individuals and organizations were honored during the 2018 Indiana Philanthropy Awards:

Lifetime Achievement - Edgar and Dorothy (posthumously) Fehnel (Indianapolis) nominated by Indiana University Foundation, Herron School of
Art + Design, and Newfields

Outstanding Philanthropist - Charlene and Joe Barnette (Carmel) nominated by Eskenazi Health Foundation
Outstanding Fundraising Professional - John Heintz, CFRE (Fishers) nominated by Indiana State University Foundation

Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser - Mark and Marabeth Levett (Columbus) nominated by Hanover College
Outstanding Youth Achievement - Sophia Pruitt (Indianapolis) nominated by IndyHumane
Outstanding Foundation - R. B. Annis Educational Foundation (Indianapolis) nominated by University of Indianapolis
Outstanding Foundation - Sherman & Marjorie Zeigler Foundation (Muncie) nominated by The Community Foundation of Muncie & Delaware County, Inc. 

Outstanding Philanthropy Group - Impact 100 of Greater Indianapolis (Indianapolis) nominated by Roberta Jaggers
Outstanding Corporation - Sun King Brewing Company (Indianapolis) nominated by American Red Cross of Indiana



Click here to see the list of past recipients.