National Philanthropy Day 2022

We are proud to announce our 2022 NPD  Lifetime Achievement Honorees,
J.Robert "Bob" & Sandy Lovett

Lifetime Achievement Award:

The Lifetime Achievement Award, nominated by the AFP Eastern PA Chapter Board of Directors, recognizes the extraordinary generosity of an individual philanthropist whose impact upon our community has been profound, inspiring, and sustained.
Past recipients include: Hank and Joanne Barnette; Ross and Wendy Born; Lee and Dolly Butz; Inez and Edward Donley; Marlene “Linny” Fowler; The Reverend Dr. Daniel G. Gambet, OSFS; Priscilla Payne Hurd; Kostas Kalogeropoulos; Russell K. Laros, Jr., M.D.; Alice Anne Miller and Joan Miller Moran; The Reverend Conrad Raker, Mr. Richard Fleming.
Outstanding Philanthropist:

The Outstanding Philanthropist Award is presented to an individual or family who demonstrates exceptional generosity through direct charitable support to the community, demonstrates civic and charitable responsibility, and offers a model of generosity that encourages others toward philanthropy and community involvement.
Past recipients include: Sarkis Acopian; Dexter and Dorothy Baker; Frank Banko; Curtis (Hank) and Joanne Barnette; Raymond A. Bartolacci, Sr.; Mildred E. Beers; Walter and Margaret Berger; The Muriel M. and Philip I. Berman Family; DeLight E. and Helen S. Breidegam, Jr.; Michael J. Caruso; Irvin and Lois Cohen; Edward and Inez Donley; Al and Jill Douglass; Richard Fleming; Marlene “Linny” Fowler; William and Phyllis Grube; Priscilla Payne Hurd; Dr. Linda Lapos and Paul Wirth; Dr. J. Robert and Sandra Lovett; L. Charles and Ruth Marcon; Edward F. Martin; The Donald P. Miller Family; Roger W. Mullin, Jr.; Robert and Ardath Rodale; Roland and Doris Sigal; Vincent and Michelle Sorgi; Bill and Denise Spence; Katherine Merle-Smith Thomas; Dr. John and Ruby Updegrove; Dave and Pam DeCampli, Robert and Susan Gadomski.

Outstanding Foundation:

The Outstanding Foundation Award recognizes a foundation that demonstrates outstanding commitment to philanthropy through charitable support and leadership in the community.
Past recipients include: Allentown Rotary Foundation, Andy Derr Foundation for Kidney Cancer Research; Berks County Community Foundation, Brown Daub Foundation, The Century Fund; The Martin D. Cohen Foundation, Holt Family Foundation, Julius & Katheryn Hommer Foundation, The R.K. Laros Foundation, Lehigh Valley Community Foundation, Martin Guitar Charitable Foundation, Mattioli Foundation Pocono Raceway, The Rider-Pool Foundation, The Samuels Family Foundation, The Harry C. Trexler Trust, Two Rivers Health and Wellness Foundation, Keystone Savings Foundation.
Outstanding Business:

The Outstanding Business Award recognizes a corporation or business that demonstrates outstanding commitment to philanthropy through charitable support and leadership in the community.
Past recipients include: Air Products and Chemicals, Inc.; Apollo Grill; AT&T; ASR Media; Aventis Pasteur; B. Braun Medical, Inc.; Bethlehem Steel Corp.; Boscov’s Department Stores, Inc.; Alvin H. Butz, Inc.; Capital Blue Cross; Carpenter Technology; Computer Aid, Inc.; Crayola Inc.; First Union National Bank; GIANT Food Stores; Highmark; Just Born, Inc.; Keystone Nazareth Bank & Trust; Lafayette Ambassador Bank; Meridian Bank-Lehigh Division; Metropolitan Edison Company; PNC Financial Services Group; PPL Electric Utilities; Reading Tube Corporation; Sovereign Bank; Tallman, Hudders & Sorrentino, P.C.; The Morning Call; Victaulic Company; and Wood Dining Services, Atas International, Inc.
Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser/Community Volunteer:

The Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser Award recognizes an individual or couple who demonstrates exceptional volunteer leadership skills in organizing and motivating other volunteers for specific fundraising projects.
Past recipients include: Jeffrey T. Bogert; Douglas W. Caldwell; Alvina L. Campbell; Anthony and Evelyn Carfagno; Susan Christine; Bert Daday; William and Alma Deibert; James Deutsch; Michael Ehlerman; Oldrich Foucek; Elmer D. Gates; Janie Holben; Raymond and Thelma Holland; Lawrence T. Jilk, Jr.; Bruce G. Kilroy; Sidney D. and Barbara J. Kline, Jr.; Edwin and Alma Lakin; James Lanshe Sr., Esq.; David and Kathy Leber; Jim Leupold; Louis Liebhaber; Samuel A. McCullough; A.W. Mellon; Diana and Don Patt; Ronald L. Rider; June A. Roedel; Anthony Salvaggio; Betsy and Sam Torrence; Bobby Gunther Walsh; Walter F. Williams; and Ilene and Robert Wood., Bill and Christine Hankee, Edward and Anne Davis.

Outstanding Fundraising Group:

This award is presented to a group or organization (including a service club/group) that demonstrates a significant fundraising activity performed by its members to benefit a specific charitable cause.
Past recipients include: Aktion Club, Allen D. Diebler Memorial Golf Classic Committee; Blue and White Scholastic Foundation, Grand View Hospital Auxiliary, Greater Lehigh Valley Auto Dealers Association, Auxiliary of Lehigh Valley Hospital, Friends of Moravian Hall Square, Knights of Columbus — Lehigh Valley Councils, St. Luke’s Hospital and Health Network Auxiliary, Society of the Arts (SOTA), UGI United Way at Work Committee, Westminster Village Auxiliary, Women’s 5K Classic, 46th Annual MaryEllen Golf Tournament Executive Committee.
Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy:

The Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy Awards honors a next generation individual or group who has initiated or been involved with a philanthropic activity.

Past recipients include: Eric Bellis, Youth Advisory Committee of the Berks Community Foundation, Bethlehem Area Vo-Tech Community Service Project, Bethlehem Catholic Squires, Central Elementary School, The Spirit of Bethlehem of East Hills Middle School, KidsPeace Youth, Amy Lantz, Danielle Levin, Trevor Margraf; The Movement, Bethlehem Catholic High School; Project Quarantine; Red Cross Clubs of the Lehigh Valley, Cassandra “Casey” Rivera, Salisbury Middle School Interact Club, Eileen Seitz, and Mansi G. Shah, Students of Bethlehem Area School District Mini-thon, Cayden Ellis Roth.

Rising Star:
The Rising Star Award recognizes a fundraiser who is new to the field (less than five years) and who exemplifies professionalism and creativity and has documented success in fundraising and a commitment to professional development.


Past recipients include: Andrew Block, Amanda K. Buss; Kate Cohen; and Sharon Zondag.


NEW IN 2022! IDEA Champion:
The IDEA Champion Award recognizes an individual or organization that embodies the principles of inclusion, diversity, equity, and access. These nominations will be reviewed by AFP Eastern PA Chapter’s IDEA committee.


NEW IN 2022! Outstanding BIPOC Leader:
The Outstanding BIPOC Leader recognizes an individual identifying as Black, Indigenous or Person of Color (BIPOC) who demonstrates leadership, involvement, and service to others through positive and significant contributions to the fundraising profession and nonprofit community.  These nominations will be reviewed by AFP Eastern PA Chapter’s IDEA committee.