The 2022 award nominations have closed. Please see the 2022 honorees, along with award criteria, below. For a list of past honorees, click here.
      Award Recipients

      The MAX M. FISHER AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING PHILANTHROPIST is presented to an individual or family with a proven record of exceptional philanthropic generosity, whose demonstrated philanthropic commitment encourages others to take leadership roles in philanthropy.

      HONOREE: Carla Walker-Miller, Founder & CEO, Walker-Miller Energy;
      nominated by Autism Alliance of Michigan

      The OUTSTANDING FOUNDATION AWARD SPONSORED BY PLANTE MORAN is presented to private foundations that demonstrate outstanding commitment through financial support and through encouragement and motivation of others to take leadership roles in philanthropy and community involvement.

      HONOREE: The Vera and Joseph Dresner Foundation, nominated by The Empowerment Plan

      The OUTSTANDING CORPORATION AWARD is presented to a corporation or its corporate foundation for demonstrating outstanding commitment through financial support and through encouragement and motivation of others to take leadership roles in philanthropy and community involvement.

      HONOREE: DTE Energy, nominated by Oakland University

      The EDMUND T. AHEE JEWEL AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING VOLUNTEER FUNDRAISER, in memory of Edmund T. Ahee, is presented to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership skills in volunteer fundraising, and in coordinating and motivating groups of volunteers for major fundraising projects for more than one non-profit organization.

      HONOREE: John Carter, nominated by Forgotten Harvest

      The DR. JOHN S. LORE AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING FUNDRAISING EXECUTIVE is for an outstanding individual fundraising executive who practices his/her profession in an exemplary manner. The recipient must have at least ten years of professional fundraising experience, evidence of quality of leadership and acting as a team player, be a current member of AFP, commitment to continuing professional development, and commitment to fundraising and philanthropy through volunteer service and financial support of non-profit organizations.

      HONOREE: David Ripple, Vice President of Philanthropy, Trinity Health Michigan-Southeast Region; nominated by Trinity Health Michigan-Southeast Region

      The SPARKY ANDERSON AWARD FOR YOUTH IN PHILANTHROPY was instituted as a way to recognize and reward philanthropic young people and to educate youths about the importance of helping and giving. The purpose of the youth award is three-fold: first, to thank students for volunteering their time and energy to a particular project; second, as an inspiration to encourage other children to become involved in fundraising activities by following the example of the winners; and third, to give public recognition to youths and their philanthropic projects.

      HONOREE: Jeremiah Steen, Director, Steen Foundation; nominated by Detroit Area Agency on Aging

      The SPIRIT OF PHILANTHROPY AWARD is given to an organization, corporation, or to one or more individuals to acknowledge those that have made outstanding contributions to the philanthropic culture of our community, especially in times of need. The recipient has contributed to the community by giving time, resources, and financial support in innovative ways that creates lasting impact and sets an example for our community.

      HONOREE: Dennis Archer, Chairman & CEO, Dennis W. Archer PLLC; Chairman Emeritus Chairman, Dickinson Wright, PLLC; nominated by Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan

      Local awards presented annually at the Greater Detroit Chapter’s National Philanthropy Day celebration:

      The NEAL SHINE AWARD FOR MEDIA COMMITMENT TO PHILANTHROPY is presented to individuals with media activity focusing on building communities, demonstrating a consistent ethical foundation, showing a commitment to and success in making metropolitan Detroit a better place to live, and developing leadership and personal involvement in others.

      HONOREE: Chuck Stokes, Editorial Director, WXYZ-TV;
      nominated by Nonprofit Personnel Network

      The GEORGE W. ROMNEY AWARD FOR LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT IN VOLUNTEERISM is given annually to one or more persons who have contributed many years of service to the community and who have simultaneously exhibited quality fundraising and personal giving, offering inspiration to others, and contributing their time and energies to charities of their choice.

      HONOREE: Ben Maibach, Chief Community Officer, Barton Marlow Company; nominated by YMCA of Metropolitan Detroit


      HONOREE: Peter Remington, Founder & CEO, The Remington Group; nominated by The Development Group