About National Philanthropy Day


National Philanthropy Day® is the day we recognize and pay tribute to the contributions that philanthropy – and philanthropists – have made to our great city and our nation. For 25 years, the Lubbock Association of Fundraising has been recognizing area leaders and philanthropists for their contributions to making life better on the South Plains.

This year's NPD celebration is presented by The CH Foundation, Covenant Health Foundation, and United Supermarkets.

2022 Awardees:

Outstanding Corporation: Lubbock National Bank

Outstanding Foundation: Diekemper Family Foundation

Outstanding Fundraising Professional: Deborah Finlayson

Outstanding Philanthropist: Sandy and Alan Henry

Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser: Renee Davis

Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy: Garland Spore

In addition to the honorees above, you can check out our past recipients here.

Lubbock AFP will continue the celebration of philanthropy by hosting the Celebrating Philanthropy conference

Wednesday, November 9, 2022
Meet-and-Greet begins at 5:00 PM, Reception begins at 5:30 PM

Thursday, November 17, 2022
8:30 AM - 2:30 PM
Knipling Center 

Conference Schedule:

8:00 AM -8:45 AM

Check in Coffee Bar

9:00 AM - 9:45 AM

Session 1: "Shot to the Heart": Storytelling, Emotion in Fundraising *Zoom Conference Call (Presented by David Kravinchuk & Lynn Boardman)

10:00 AM - 10:45 AM

Session 2, multiple options available

Option 1: The Volunteer Fundraiser: The Chair and Their Reason WHY Panel (Featuring Renee Gonzales Davis, Keith Patrick, and Paula Mustin)

Option 2: Stewarding the Monthly Donors (Presented by Caroline Kolins)

11:00 AM - 11:45 AM

Session 3, multiple options available

Option 1: Making the Ask *Zoom Conference Call (Presented by Bernard Ross)

Option 2: Round Table: Relationship Building with Donors/Volunteers (Facilitated by Libby Linker)

12:15 PM - 1:15 PM

Session 4: Keynote Speaker

Goodwill Industries of East Texas President and CEO “A seat at the table or part of the meal” (IDEA focused)

1:30 PM - 2:30 PM

Session 5: Young and New Fundraiser Professionals CFRE Panel (Featuring Kimberly Lueb, Nathan Rice, and Maggie Baker)

Spirit of Philanthropy

As a Lubbock AFP member, you have the ability to purchase a Spirit of Philanthropy (SOP) award to honor a volunteer or staff member in your organization at our NPD 2022 Outstanding Awards Ceremony. Honorees will be given a personally engraved award and will be recognized at our reception on Wednesday evening, November 9.

2022 Spirit of Philanthropy Awardees: 

Ashley Ellis-Dotson
Ada Ruth & Chester Green
Stacey Hemby
Debra Henderson
Joe & Christy Hurst
Terry & Sheri Hurst
D'Juana McPherson
Kurt Metcalf
Paula Mustin
Dee & Ralph Paone
Mike Phelps
Sydnee Spector
Joe Tubb
Laura Vinson
Rudy & Martha Zapata


Presenting Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Craig & Ann McDonald

Silver Sponsors

Thank you for your support in Lubbock AFP and the many ways our community members support non-profits!